Vape Age Laws Restrict Teenagers from Vaping

vape age laws

E-cigarettes are considered tobacco products and are banned in public buildings and prohibited to people who are under 18 years of age. Although the legal status of vaporizers is still pending in some countries, the use and sale to adults are legal in the United States and the United Kingdom. It is, however, banned in Brazil, Singapore, Uruguay, Norway and the Seychelles. The Food and Drug Authority extended its regulatory power to the product as of August 8, 2016. They will evaluate its ingredients, health risks, and monitor its use and distribution. The FDA has also banned minors from buying or using e-cigarettes.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Vape?

A recent report stated that 25% of teenagers in the U.S. have experimented with vaporizers. Even children aged 13 to 15 are fascinated with the product. They’ve been using e-cigs and e-hookahs under their teachers and parents’ noses!

Vaporizers, e-cigarettes, vape pens, whatever you want to call them – they all contain nicotine. And we all know that this substance is harmful to your health. It can weaken your lungs and even cause deadly illnesses such as cancer.

So if you haven’t tried this product yet, it’s better that you never do. Stay away from e-cigarettes or any tobacco product to maintain your good health. If you want to try it, wait until your 18 years old to avoid getting into any trouble.

If You’re a Minor, You Can’t Purchase or Use E-Cigarettes in These States:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Ohio
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Michigan
  • Oklahoma
  • New Hampshire
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The state of Arkansas also prohibits indoor smoking while North Carolina taxes all vaping products at 5 cents per ml. If you live in California and are caught vaping under the age of 18, you will be fined $100 up to $500. Louisiana has increased its tax by 100% while New York imposed a 95% tax.

While other states are strict about the use and sale of e-cigarettes, others are lenient and have no laws against it. Texas does not ban its sale, but Oregon requires FDA approval. Massachusetts, North Dakota and Pennsylvania ban them from public places, and Illinois completely banned their sale. The loophole is that these states have laws against the sale of e-cigarettes, but nothing about the prohibition of possession to minors.

What Do Teenagers Like About Vaping?

Some teenagers smoke or vape because they want to rebel from their parents. Others are simply amazed at the technology, and there are also some who are compelled by peer pressure. Teenagers think that smoking or vaping makes them look ‘cool.’ Some of them use it to distract themselves from problems at home or in school; they use it as an ‘escape tool.’ Manufacturers make it difficult for these teenagers to avoid their products by adding appeal to it – flavoring, blowing bigger clouds, etc.

Leave a Reply